OUR NETWORK:TiVo Community Explore3DTV TechLore DVRplayground Dijit Community See all... About UsAdvertiseContact Us

Learn about scoring Forum's Raw Score: 848839.0
June 27, 2010 09:05 AM

Categories: Backup and Restore

Rating (0 votes)
Rate This!

Member Avatar

Weatherdoc

I've been backing up my Windows 7 and Windows Vista PC's for many months on my EX470 with no problems except having to run a chkdsk on my 7 machine a couple times a month when the backup fails. I am noiw getting a backup error that is identical from both PC's:

Failure Details for Volume (Local Disk):

An error occurred reading or writing from server storage.
D:\folders\{00008086-058D-4C89-AB57-A7F909A47AB4}\GlobalCluster.4096.dat
Readfile

I have run checkdsk on both PC's and rebooted the server. I get the same error for an automatic or manual backup. I have plenty of free space on the server.

Anyone know how to fix this?

Discussion:    Add a Comment | Comments 1-10 of 10 | Latest Comment

June 27, 2010 9:12 AM

That folder is on the server. There is likely something corrupt in the backups database. Try a repair of the database from the console. If that fails you may need to delete the backups to clear the error.

"everything will be ok in the end. if it's not ok, it's not the end" - unknown

June 27, 2010 9:14 AM

Thanks for the suggestion. I just started the repair...we'll see how it goes!

June 27, 2010 9:40 AM

The server states that the repair ran successfully but after I tried the backup again, it failed with the same error. I ran the repair again, then ran the Backup Cleanup (based on the help from Microsoft web site) and received the following error:

An error in the backup service is preventing the cleanup operation.

Any other suggestions?

June 27, 2010 9:51 AM

It looks like the backups are stored in the referenced D:\ folder. Is it safe to simply delete the .dat files in the referenced folder:

D:\folders\{00008086-058D-4C89-AB57-A7F909A47AB4}